Team

The following staff and associated members form the Ethics of Artificial Intelligence group at the Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück. As a working group we develop new approaches for a contemporary critical philosophy of the digital, using our colloquium for regular discussions.

Jan-Philipp Siebold

Jan is a student assistant working on the ethics project at the Cluster Science of Intelligence at TU Berlin. Prior to this, he obtained his bachelor’s degree in Liberal Arts and Sciences (majoring in Philosophy and Sociology) at Erasmus University Rotterdam. Currently, he is studying Philosophy in his masters at the FU and focuses on French critical theories in relation to key issues of the digital.

Corinna Balkow

Corinna is a research assistant in the BMBF-funded project Simport in the Ethics of AI research group. She graduated in Philosophy and Digital Media at the University of Bremen and worked as software usability tester, international quality manager and digital society expert. Her research focuses on digital society, monitoring algorithmic systems and the Ethics in AI.

Per Gülzow

Per is a student assistant in the BMBF-funded project Simport in the Ethics of AI reserach group. He is studying philosophy and computer science at the Freie Universität Berlin, focusing on politics, technology and society. During his time as a student, Per has worked for politicians and the German government.

Annemarie Witschas

Annemarie is a Master student in Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück and a student assistant in the Ethics of AI reserach group. Due to her interdisciplinary studies, she has a background in both AI and philosophy. She is particularly interested in the intersection of AI and queer-/feminist theory.

Nora Freya Lindemann

Nora is a research assistant in the Ethics of AI reserach group at the Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück. Through her M.Sc. in Cognitive Science and her B.A. in Liberal Arts and Sciences, she has a broad, interdisciplinary background in philosophy, ethics, gender studies and cultural studies. In her research, she deals with the ethical implications of AI systems, especially chatbots, on society and questions of whether/how AI can be democratic and fair.

Paul Schütze

Paul is a research assistant in the Ethics of AI research group at the Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück. In his research he focuses on the structure and functioning of digital capitalism and its connections to the climate crisis. Particularly, he is interested in the textures of power and subjectivation in the age of Big Data and AI. He has a background in affect studies, philosophy of mind and critical social philosophy.

Anastasija Kocic

Anastasija is a student assistant in the research group Ethics of AI at the Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Osnabrück. She studies cognitive science and works on the philosophy of digital society.

Martin Pechmann

Martin is an academic assistant at the Ethics of AI group. He joined the team after working at the TOPOI research network in Berlin, supporting its open access initiative in scientific publishing. His academic background is in mathematics and philosophy, in particular mathematical logic (model theory; Diplom HU Berlin) and in themes from critical metaphysics (theories of intentionality and action theory, theories of rationality, Hegel, Kant, Wittgenstein, McDowell; M.A. FU Berlin).

Former members

Mareike Lisker

Mareike is a student assistant on the ethics project at the Cluster Science of Intelligence at TU Berlin. With her two bachelor’s degrees in computer science as well as in philosophy and linguistics, she supports our work on the ethics of AI. She is interested in the critical engagement with tools and phenomena of the digital. Currently, she is also studying philosophy in her master’s degree.

Team

Die folgenden Mitarbeiter*innen und assoziierten Mitglieder bilden die AG Ethik der Künstlichen Intelligenz am Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft der Universität Osnabrück. Als Arbeitsgruppe entwickeln wir neue Ansätze für eine zeitgenössische kritische Philosophie des Digitalen und nutzen unser Kolloquium für inhaltliche Diskussionen.

Jan-Philipp Siebold

Jan ist studentischer Mitarbeiter im Ethik-Projekt am Cluster Science of Intelligence an der TU Berlin. Mit seinem Bachelor in Liberal Arts and Sciences (Schwerpunkte: Philosophie und Soziologie) unterstützt er das Cluster im Bereich der Ethik der KI. Aktuell studiert er im M.A. Philosophie an der FU Berlin und beschäftigt sich mit französischen kritischen Theorien im Zusammenspiel mit Schlüsselfragen der Digitalisierung.

Corinna Balkow

Corinna ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im BMBF-geförderten Projekt Simport in der Forschungsgruppe Ethik der KI an der Universität Osnabrück. Sie hat einen Magister-Abschluss in Medien-Informatik und Philosophie und hat in den vergangenen Jahren als Software Usability Testerin, International Quality Manager und Referentin für Digitale Gesellschaft gearbeitet. Ihre Forschung befasst sich vor allem damit, wie sich digitale Gesellschaft verändert, wie algorithmische Systeme geprüft werden können und wie Ethik in AI umgesetzt werden kann.

Per Gülzow

Per ist Student der Philosophie und Informatik an der FU Berlin und arbeitet als studentischer Mitarbeiter im BMBF-geförderten Projekt Simport in der Ethik der KI Forschungsgruppe. Er beschäftigt sich in seinem Studium schwerpunktmäßig mit Politik, Technologie und Gesellschaft. Per hat während seines Studiums für Politiker*innen und die Bundesregierung gearbeitet.

Annemarie Witschas

Annemarie ist Masterstudentin der Kognitionswissenschaften an der Universität Osnabrück und studentische Mitarbeiterin in der AG Ethics of AI. Durch ihr interdisziplinäres Studium hat sie einen Hintergrund in KI und Philosophie. Sie ist Sie interessiert sich besonders für die Überschneidung von KI und queer/feministischer Theorie.

Nora Freya Lindemann

Nora ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Forschungsgruppe Ethik der KI am Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft an der Universität Osnabrück. Durch ihren M.Sc. in Cognitive Science und ihren B.A. in Liberal Arts and Sciences hat sie einen breit gefächerten, interdisziplinären Hintergrund in Philosophie, Ethik, Gender Studies und den Kulturwissenschaften. Sie forscht zu den ethischen Auswirkungen von KI-Systemen, insbesondere von Chatbots, auf Gesellschaft und befasst sich mit der Frage, wie/ob KI demokratisch und fair gestaltet werden kann.

Paul Schütze

Paul ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Forschungsgruppe Ethik der KI am Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft der Universität Osnabrück. In seiner Forschung befasst er sich mit den Strukturen und Funktionsweisen des digitalen Kapitalismus und deren Verbindung zur Klimakrise. Insbesondere interessiert er sich für die Textur von Macht und Subjektivierung im Zeitalter von Big Data und KI. Er hat einen Hintergrund in Affect Theory, Philosophie des Geistes und kritischer Sozialphilosophie.

Anastasija Kocic

Anastasija ist studentische Hilfskraft in der Forschungsgruppe Ethik der KI am Institut für Kognitionswissenschaft an der Universität Osnabrück. Sie studiert Kognitionswissenschaft und arbeitet zur Philosophie der digitalen Gesellschaft.

Martin Pechmann

Martin unterstützt die Arbeitsgruppe als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft. Zuvor war er am Exzellenzcluster TOPOI in Berlin an wissenschaftlichen Publikationsprozessen im Open-Access-Verfahren beteiligt. Sein wissenschaftlicher Hintergrund liegt in Mathematik und Philosphie, speziell in der mathematischen Logik (Modelltheorie; Diplom HU Berlin) und in Themen der kritischen Metaphysik (Intentionalität und Handlungstheorie, Theorien der Vernunft, speziell Hegel, Kant, Wittgenstein, McDowell; M.A. FU Berlin).

Ehemalige Mitarbeiter*innen

Mareike Lisker

Mareike ist studentische Mitarbeiterin im Ethik-Projekt am Cluster Science of Intelligence der TU Berlin. Mit ihren zwei Bachelorabschlüssen in Informatik sowie Philosophie und Linguistik unterstützt sie unsere Arbeit zur Ethik der KI und zum kritischen Umgang mit Tools und Phänomenen der Digitalität. Sie studiert zurzeit im Master Philosophie.